Scroll to content
School Logo

St Nicholas of Tolentine Catholic Primary School

Where charity and love are, God is there

Catholic Social Teaching

Seven Catholic social teaching principles

Catholic Social Teaching is based around the Church’s belief that we can all make a difference in making our world a better place for all. These teachings are rooted in Scripture and especially in the teachings of Jesus found in the Gospels. Christ shows us how to walk in his footsteps, bringing love and care to those both near and far. It is our vocation to live as Jesus and saints throughout the ages, bettering our world for everyone.

The Catholic Church has seven principles of social teaching that we will explore in school, just like our virtues.

  • Dignity of the human person
  • Family and Community
  • Solidarity and The Common Good
  • Dignity of Work and the Rights of Workers
  • Rights and Responsibilities
  • Option for the Poor and Vulnerable
  • Stewardship of God’s Creation

Throughout your child’s spiritual journey at St Nicholas of Tolentine, we explore these principles through our curriculum, activities, prayer and liturgy and through our everyday actions.

 We spent the last week of Term 3 exploring the principles of Catholic Social Teaching in our lessons. The children presented what they had learnt to the whole school, each class took a different principle. We are looking forward to exploring these further within our wider curriculum.  
Diamond Class: Care of God’s creation 
Emerald Class: Solidarity 
Ruby Class: Right and Responsibilities
Amethyst Class: Option for the poor and Vulnerable. 
Sapphire Class: Dignity of work 
Topaz Class: Call to family